CNSA loading

Hello CNSA members!


My name is Sheren Anwar Siani and I currently serve as both CNSA Vice-President and Chair of the Awards Committee. The committee has received a large number of applications this year, including submissions in either English and French. There were many strong candidates this year and I would like to commend all of your hard work, contribution, and passion that you have for such diverse aspects of nursing! Together with the committee and our stakeholders, I will be working to create new awards and showcase the achievements of our members, so stay tuned! Feel free to contact me at for any award-related questions or feedback – we would love to hear from you!


CFNU Award for Excellence in Student Nursing Leadership:

Valerie Duff-Murdoch (nominated by Marie-Philippe Rouleau)

McGill University, Montreal, QC


CNF Award for Involvement in Aboriginal Health:

Crystal Whitefish

SCBScN Saskatoon Kelsey Campus, Saskatoon, SK


CNSA Award for Student Clinical Excellence:

Jessica Blackbourn

University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC


Sukhy Sumra

Langara College, Vancouver, BC


CNSA Global Nursing Student Award:

Adriana Bucz

University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC


CNSA Award for Education and Research:

Jessica Loeppky

University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB


CNSA Award for Community Involvement:

Martha Paynter

Dalhousie University, Halifax, NS


Special Excellence Award:

Laura Monchak

Camosun College/University of Victoria, Victoria, BC


CNSA Recognition Award for Preceptors and Mentors:

Donna Martin (nominated by Jessica Loeppky)

University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB